Tags

, , , ,

Image

I have felt so very lost for the past few months, as if I have been wandering around with no real direction or understanding of the path I am on. The shadows of this world seemed to follow me until they had crept into every corner of my mind; the hatred of the world haunted my thoughts and weighed down my every step until I was sure I could never escape it.

I found myself falling into bouts of depression, some going so far as to end in an anxiety attack. The world is so cruel and full of hate and people seem to have simply accepted that; but I could not accept that. It troubled me so deeply to see such darkness in such a beautiful world. What troubled me even more was how few people seemed to see it. I would share stories that had deeply disturbed me with others and they would respond with utter indifference.

After months in the dark I finally reached my breaking point. I could not sit by an watch as the light of humanity in the world dimmed into nothing.

“Even the smallest person can change the course of the future.” – J.R.R. Tolkien

Those words are what first got me thinking. I may be one single small person, but I have big dreams and beautiful visions for this world. Perhaps I was not as lost as I had believed. Rather, perhaps the darkness of this world effects me more deeply than it does others because I have such vivid dreams of what it could be if only people would open their eyes to light. That is when I had the realization that perhaps not everyone could see all that I do; perhaps not everyone sees the light through the shadows so clearly as I do. And then I understood.

“Not all those who wander are lost…” J.R.R. Tolkien

I had not been wandering aimlessly through the darkness. Rather, the shadows haunt me more than others because I can see the light beyond them. I can see all the beauty in the world and I know all that it has the potential to become. I am a voice that must be heard.

I’ll be honest; I don’t know exactly where this journey is going to take me. All I know is that I need to stand up for those lights in the darkness and find the others out there who have the same dreams for this world as I do.

Words are more powerful than many understand, and I intend to use mine to show others those lights shining through the world’s shadows, and then watch them spread across the earth like wildfire. After all, darkness is nothing more than the absence of light.